The Ideal Wallet

Lia Reoma
8 min readJun 25, 2021

--

In under 3 minutes, we were tasked to design the IDEAL wallet.

And here it is:

My ideal wallet looks like this. A wallet that contains, of course, money, and cards such as, credit card, debit card, and even a driver’s license, because I really want to learn how to drive my own car. It also contains VIP concert tickets and receipts from groceries, not because I’m a hoarder but because I want to provide for my family too. There are also pictures of me and my family across the universe, just kidding, across the world. And lastly, a guitar pick, just in case I want to play or have an on-the-spot jamming session.

Aside from sketching our own ideal wallet, we were also tasked to interview a classmate about his/her own sketch. For this activity, I interviewed Nicko Gatchalian and asked him to walk me through the contents of his ideal wallet. He showed me his sketch and told me the story behind it.

Nicko’s Ideal Wallet Sketch

During the interview, I took some notes and asked follow-up questions on the statements I found interesting then wrote them in the Dig Deeper section. We had 4 minutes for the Interview part, and 3 minutes for the Dig Deeper part.

Now for the last part, we were tasked to reframe the problem.

For 3 minutes, I reflected on the notes I had during the Interview and Dig Deeper. After which, I identified my interviewee’s goals and wishes and wrote down my insights from the interview.

Nicko’s Goals & Wishes

> To be contented

>To have a driver’s license

>To drive his own car

>To be surrounded by his true friends

My Insights

I never have thought that an ideal wallet could look so rugged and old. I expected that Nicko would show a new wallet full of cash. But I was surprised that he pulled it off. I know that it’s cliche, but truly we should not judge a book (or wallet) by its cover.

Based on the short interview I had with Nicko, I noticed that he is a humble and sentimental person. He is contented with what he has, as long as it’s functional. The most important thing for him is that his ideal wallet serves its purpose. Others may say that he's cheap because he’s still using and considers his old, damaged, and wrinkled wallet, ideal. But as Nicko said, he will never replace his wallet, because it was given to him by someone special. It contains memories that a brand new expensive wallet can never have. Regarding the amount that is in his ideal wallet, I may say that he is practical. He only put a few coins and bills in his wallet, so that it wouldn’t be bulky. And when he sits down with the wallet in his pocket, he won’t feel uncomfortable.

Throughout the interview, Nicko showed his humorous side. But what fascinates me is that he was telling jokes about his wallet, and still finds a way to add meaning to it. It is true that when people see your wallet that is old, damaged, wrinkled, and has little to no cash, they would definitely have second thoughts on asking or borrowing money, or even stealing it from you. Another reason why his ideal wallet looks old and contains not much is that he wants to only be surrounded by his true friends, the type of friends that would still hang out with him even if he only has a few cash on hand, or worse, broke. He didn’t want to have so much money, because there will be people who will only be there for you when you reach your success, those that will like you for your money and not of who you are.

Before we ended the interview, he gave me “advice”. He said that we should not carry too many bills or coins in our wallets, because it attracts snatchers and even friends that will eagerly tell you to treat them. Instead, use GCash (This is not sponsored), so no one would know how much you have except you.

Take a Stand with a Point-of-View

Nicko needs a way to have a wallet that has no holes on it; however, his old wallet should not be replaced, because of its sentimental value. Another reason why he did not want to change his wallet is that for him, presentable or new wallets tend to attract snatchers more.

IDEATE: Generate Alternatives to Test

Problem Statement: Nicko doesn’t want to replace his old wallet because it was given to him by someone special. However, a wallet that is damaged and has holes needs to be fixed to ensure the safety of his belongings. He also has a problem with snatchers, if he is to have a new wallet.

  1. Old Wallet Restoration

2. Wallet Camouflage Design

3. Make the wallet smaller

4. Wallet attachable to a belt

5. Put zipper to hide cash

Share Your Solutions & Capture Feedback

The first sketch is about restoring his old wallet and adding a snap lock to secure the content of his wallet.

For the second sketch, I designed the old wallet to have a camouflage look, that would blend with his pants. This way, his wallet won’t be noticeable, especially for thieves.

The third sketch is about minimizing the size of the wallet. I thought of this alternative, because when I interviewed Nicko, he said that he only put few coins and bills in his wallet. So I designed his old wallet to be smaller, but could still fit his cards and money. With a smaller wallet. It would be safer when placed on his pocket, because it will go all the way inside the pocket, where no part of it will be seen by others.

For the fourth sketch, I designed the wallet to be attachable to a belt. And lastly, the fifth sketch is about placing a zipper on his wallet, particularly on the bill compartment. This design will keep his bills safe in place. This also adds on the security features.

After I presented my 5 design sketches to Nicko, he approved most of the designs. However, one design he didn’t want was the one that can be attached to a belt . He said he don’t want people seeing his wallet. He also felt uncomfortable with the idea of placing his wallet in his belt. But on the good side, he did like the idea of making the wallet smaller, so it would not be noticeable once it is placed in his pocket. He also liked the idea of putting a zipper, for extra security. For the camouflage design, he said it was okay. He said color isn’t really important to him. Any color would do. In the designs I presented, what he really liked the most is the idea of not making a new wallet for him, but instead, restoring his old wallet to look brand new and to have more features.

Reflect & Generate a New Solution

After hearing Nicko’s feedbacks on the designs, I decided to scrap all the designs we wasn’t comfortable and he didn’t liked. I will no longer make the wallet attachable to a belt. I will also not make the wallet with a camouflage design. For the designs he liked, I’d be placing them to the new design and add more features in the wallet, that would elevate not only the look but also the function of the ideal wallet .

Build Your Solution

Ideal Wallet Prototype :

Share Your Solution & Get Feedback

Nicko’s Feedback on the Prototype:

What worked?
“I am impressed with its overall design, especially on the mini album. I may not be putting a lot of money in my wallet, but I would be glad if I can see few pictures of my friends and family. It boosts the morale that keeps me going.”

What could be improved?
“I may not be needing the extra compartment between the cardholders and coin purse, it may turn the wallet bulky.”

Question

“Magmumukha bang bulky ang wallet kapag naglagay sa extra compartments?”

Ideas

  • Too many compartments can be very bulky, especially if all of them are filled.
  • Simplicity is still better.
  • Zippers are very handy. It’s a great tool to secure our belongings.
  • Wallets can also store memories through photos we keep on it.

Debriefing

1. How did talking to your interviewee inform/influence your design?

After the interview, some designs were removed. Nicko wanted to scrap the belt idea. He does not want his wallet to be exposed and placed on his belt. As it is his ideal wallet, and I’m only designing it, he has the final say. I only provide suggestions, so I should still take note of the design he want and doesn’t want.

2. How did testing and getting feedback impact your final design?

Feedbacks had helped me come up with the final design. Through Nicko’s feedbacks, I was able to revise my design to achieve the features and looks that he like it to be, and remove the designs he does not want to be part of the wallet restoration.

3. What was the most challenging part of the process for you?

The most challenging part of the process is thinking of alternatives to test. I had to think of at least five radical ways to solve Nicko’s problems. And I should also consider that he didn’t want to replace his old wallet, and so, solutions I should come up are restorations. It also took me a long time to finish the sketches.

--

--

Lia Reoma
0 Followers

Musician/Singer-songwriter who writes for a cause more than just cost.